Consume and Review’s top 5 books read in 2015: Fiction

I made a considerable effort to get through as many books as possible this year and I read some beauties – both new releases and classics.

Here are my top 5 fiction books read in 2015:

5 – The Martian – Andy Weir. 

Mars is so hot right now. No not because of its position from the Sun and atmospheric conditions, but because of Andy Weir – you idiot. Weir got us all talking about the big red planet again with his thrilling tale of Mark Watney, the astronaut and botanist left stranded on Mars.

Although I found Watney to be nearly insufferable and would have liked him to hold the honor of being the first corpse on Mars; I loved the way in which Weir presented hard science and mathematics in a thrilling and entertaining manner. Science teachers take note.

Read my full review here.

4 – Ready Player One – Ernest Cline. 

Video games are corrupting the youth.

Sorry grandma, but in the future video games are all we’ll have to escape the harsh realities of a dystopian life – but you won’t have to worry about that.

Professional nerd Ernest Cline decided to share his wet dream of an 80’s themed Easter egg hunt within a virtual world – and we’re glad that he did.  Ready Player One was a rollicking, over the top adventure, filled with imagination and retro love. From giant robot battles, to recreating scenes from the film Wargames – the fun of Ready Player One is tumultuous.

Read my full review here.

3 – Mr Mercedes – Stephen King

Steven King turns his hand to detective noir and it works – but of course it does, it’s King. Mr Mercedes is a classic hard-boiled detective thriller with a modern twist. Filled with lovable, tangible characters, a fast pace and a look into the head of a seriously creepy villain (with some minor mummy issues), Mr. Mercedes  was a joyride from start to finish and a great opening chapter to what is to an exciting trilogy.

Read my full review here. 

2- The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain 

It doesn’t get more classic than Mark Twain. Reading Huckleberry Finn swelled within me a deep sense of adventure and made me feel like a kid again. I wanted nothing more than to free a slave and float down the Mississippi with him… Also the novel is absolutely hilarious and brilliantly satirical. Twain’s genius continues to shine bright.

1 – 11/22/63 – Stephen King

King again – yes call  me a fanboy but 11/22/63 was one of the most enjoyable reading experiences I’ve had. King thrust me into the roaring 50’s with such vividness I felt like I had lived through the decade. When you take the golden years and lace them with King’s signature terror, it makes for a compelling read. What surprised me most though was a genuinely sweet and touching romance and an ending that left me emotionally distraught. This is one of King’s finest novels and was easily my favorite read of the year.

So there we have it. What were some of the books that left an impact on you in 2015? I would love to hear, so leave a comment below and let me know!

Pick up a copy of my number 1 book of the year here.

Post Script:

When preparing this list I shamefully forgot to include the beautiful and terrifying novel Blood Meridian: Or Evening Redness in the West by Cormac McCarthy. It was absolutely among my best reads of the year, if not my life! If you would like to read my thoughts on this masterpiece, my review is here. 

2 comments

  1. I loved 11/22/63. The story was so intriguing and kept me reading. I was even chuckling along with it. So many nods to his other works! i also enjoyed Mr. Mercedes and quickly followed it up with Finders Keepers. I’m excited for the third book, even though it’s heading in a direction I didn’t think King was going to take, but I’me excited nonetheless. I also enjoyed Ready Player One and The Martian this year. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

